It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages

It is becoming more and more popular for young people to take a year off after completing school, before enrolling into universities. The main advantages are that it makes the teen responsible and allows him to develop new skills. However, the disadvantage is that they might waste time by doing so. This essay will deal with both advantages and disadvantages. To begin with, there are many reasons for taking a year off between finishing school and going to university are beneficial. The first and foremost main advantage is that with ample time, students can learn and develop new skills. By observing a gap year, teens get prepared for adult life. This gives them a sense of responsibility for their actions and also become independent. Taking, for example, an individual working after schooling accepts his role and becomes responsible for his actions. In addition to it, it helps the child enhance and cultivate their talents and showcase them. As a result, teens earn become more experienced in that particular field, which might be beneficial later on. On the other hand, although there might be several positives to this trend, drawbacks are also present. The disadvantage is that time is wasted. Precious time can be spent on other projects or graduate along with their peers. For instance, when one has to graduate at 20 years with his friends, he does so at the age of 21. So, there will be a time -lapse of one year in getting to do other things like work, marriage and so on. In conclusion, this essay has discussed both advantages and disadvantages. It is up to the individual to decide which one suits him best by weighing both sides.