Some people say it is a waste of time to plan for future. It is more important to focus on the present. Do you agree or disagree?

It’s true that some people think that planning the future is a strategy unrealistic and a waste of time. While I admit that fully concentrating on the ongoing moment is important, I highly agree that making comprehensive strategic plan in advance laid the foundation for concentration efficiency. I contend that making a strategic plan plays a vital role in personal development in the professional setting. If people follow the general framework to plan their career path, they would achieve their ultimate career goals timely and efficiently. For example, there are multitude options to choose during MBA journey for MBA fellows, such as consulting clubs, business case competitions, social events., etc. Without planning on career path in advance to focus on one useful dimension beneficial to their future career success, they would easily be distracted and hardly make meaningful impacts in any particular area. Additionally, at the country level, it is paramount for government departments to plan the future development and take initiatives to achieve the macro goal. For example, government should take consideration of environmental impacts for at least next decades to make sustainable developing strategies beneficial to next generation, such as encouraging public to buy electronic vehicles. Therefore, making plan is not a waste of time but a necessary strategic involvement. On the other hand, I can understand that some people argue that making strategic plan is a waste of time because of one old saying that you do not know which one comes firstly, either the accident or tomorrow. Therefore, they insist on enjoying the moment instead. Moreover, most people who frequently plan ahead tend to be goal oriented. They would rather constantly spending time honing their skills than accompanying with their friends, lovers and their kids. In the long time, their built-up intimate relationships would be faded and they might regret focusing too much on achieving their career goals when they become isolated. In conclusion, while I admit the importance of focusing on the moment and the downside of the planning ahead, I still agree that planning the future is a necessary strategy for development in general.