It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages.

It is becoming more and more popular for young people to take a year off after completing school, before enrolling into universities. The main advantage is saving money for college and the disadvantage is to continue the job. This essay will deal with both advantages and disadvantages.  There are many reasons for taking a year off between finishing school and going to university are beneficial. The first and foremost main advantage is that students can learn and develop new skills with ample time. By observing a gap year, teens get prepared for adult life. Gives them a sense of responsibility for their actions and also become independent. For example, an individual working after schooling become responsible and independent, mainly financially. They use their earned money by paying college tuition fees, accommodation and learn to live within their means.  They will not be financially dependent on their parents. On the other hand, although there might be several positives to this trend, and drawbacks are also present. A significant disadvantage is that they would pursue working and do not want to return to a life of study. This may not offer the prospects that their future career might have done as they bypass university. For instance, most of the American teenagers spend their entire lives working after graduating from high school without a college graduate degree. In conclusion, this essay has discussed both advantages and disadvantages involved in taking a year off. It is up to the individual to decide which one suits him best by weighing both sides.