In recent years, many small shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

People have changed their shopping methods these days and they are inclined towards shopping in huge mals. Whereas people used to purchase their needs in local shops. As a result of this drastic change, local communities are closed. In my perspective, this can be both positive and negative scenario for some reasons that I will explain below. On the one hand, buying things in huge mals can have many benefits for customers. Firstly, people can choose all the items that are necessary in one place instead of travelling across the city. This saves time and travel charges of people. Secondly, people can get exclusive offers and discounts on products when they shop unlikely small shops which may not have such offers. For example, in New York City, consumers tend to have their purchases in huge mals as they can get those things at reasonable prices and with concessions. On the other hand, compulsive shopping in mals can lead local shops to be disappeared. This is mainly because small businesses are organised with local people who may not have such a vast amount of money to develop their business to attract people. As a result of this, such shops may not get profits continuously and may be overlooked by people. This led to many native shops to be closed permanently which can have financial problems for the owners. This creates a negative tendency for other business aspirants not to invest in local businesses. Therefore, native people would not develop themselves and should always depend on international markets for shopping. In conclusion, huge shopping malls have revolutionized people's shopping habits and lured them to purchase their products mostly than in local shops. I believe that this trend has equal advantages and disadvantages.