Scientific research should be primarily funded by governments instead of commercial companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Few topics have drawn as much scholarly attention as scientific research fundings, especially in the last few decades. Although there is substantial debate over governments should be the primary provider of funds for scientific research or it should be done by commercial companies, I am of the opinion that former proposition has several strong elements that deserve attention. A number of benefits can attribute to funding scientific research to the government so that governments can use the inventions for the public. One hand, by releasing funds to scientific research, governments can encourage scientists to invent new things which may have the potential to change the world. On the other, thanks to great inventions, governments can enjoy the benefits of it even after decades. There is no doubt that all these merits of scientific research will hold governments in good stead as far as political advantages are concerned. Examples of this scenario can be seen in countries like America where research in the scientific field given a lot of opportunities for the country to enhance their knowledge in areas as medicine, space, agriculture and the like. Admittedly, it is true that if commercial companies provide funds to scientific research, the inventions of that research will be commercialised and never reach to poor people in the society. Some companies use these results to improve their market and increase the prices of their products. Commercial funded research is only beneficial to that particular company and governments can't use them for the public without having rights on the results and one cannot dismiss the deleterious effects associated with it. In conclusion, I would not wish to underestimate the concerns regarding commercial companies funded research. Nevertheless, I feel that fundings provided for scientific research by the governments will not only give political benefits to the governments, but also benefits it provides to the public are far too great to ignore.