Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

Insomnia and fewer hours of sleep have been a frequent complaint of many people nowadays. There are many causes for this issue, including the increased level of stress and lack of healthy habits in life. It is already known that problems on the sleep pattern leading to fewer hours of sleep are associated with many health conditions. Therefore, this issue should be presented to healthcare workers and solutions must be implemented to avoid many problems. Many studies have already shown that insomnia is associated with different health conditions, like cardiovascular diseases. For example, people that sleep less than 6 hours a day have a higher chance of having coronary artery diseases and, consequently, a higher risk of having a heart attack. Moreover, not having enough hours of sleep can also cause cognitive issues, like decreased concentration and memory problems. Thus, it matter should be discussed with healthcare professionals so measures and treatments can be done to solve the problem. One of the possible solutions would be to decrease the amount of coffee during the day. In addition, people should be encouraged to engage in activities that provide relaxation and increase leisure time. For instance, some studies published in a famous medical journal showed that therapies using music and meditation had an excellent effect in treating cases of insomnia. In the studies mentioned, individuals who used musical therapy and learned to practice meditation increased their sleeping hours in a couple of hours. Consequently, they increased their performance in their jobs and were less tired at the end of the day. In conclusion, lack of hours of sleep is an increasing problem in our society. Because of its deleterious effect of health and cognition, this condition should be early diagnosed and treated to avoid future issues. So, people should not underestimate the effects of sleep disturbances and should be encouraged to treat this increasing matter.