In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people nowadays live longer than before and many societies argue that it would be a burden at some points. However, there are communities that assume this could benefit them, especially among scientists because they could have more specialists. I wholeheartedly agree that the advantages of having the elderly outweigh the disadvantages. One of the possible problems of having an ageing population is the increasing demand for healthcare and resources while they are not at their productive age to invent something. The demand for healthcare is increasing because old people are vulnerable in terms of health. Additionally, in some countries, the government has regulations to accommodate and take care of the elderly and having more old people would charge them more. For instance, in Indonesia where a bigger health centre is ideal only for 1000 people per day, people in vulnerable age are increasing the demand and makes the facilities can not provide an intensive care. Nevertheless, in some aspects, the elderly are needed and this could outweigh the disadvantages. Asides from the advantages, there is an advantage of having agening population due to the fact that the age of people is aligned with the expertise they have and in some aspects such as science and health, experts are needed to develop things. This is due to the fact that the experts had more knowledge as they have been deepening certain areas for a long time. For example, specialist doctors spend almost 12 years after graduating to have a specialist in a certain area and most of them would have many experiences that could deepen their knowledge and the key is time. Due to this fact, old citizens are precious because they are able to share and invent things that enhance the quality of life. To conclude, in some specific areas such as science, they need more people with experience to be included in the research. While in some aspects such as sports, age is paramount because of health reasons, the advancement of science is more impactful for human beings and having more professionals are important. Therefore, having an ageing population would be more beneficial for human beings.