governments should spent money on railways rather than roads. to what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

The improvement in the infrastructure of roads and railways is the demand of time. Spending funds to improve the railways is thought by many far more essential than to improve the roads. Although allocating more funds for the railways is required, I would argue that roads need more improvement and this fact could not be denied. There is no doubt that for some people, rails are the fastest means of transportation so that an enormous amount of money should be invested to provide more facilities to the passengers. Travelling via rail could also save people's time and they considered them the safest mode to commute to and from the work. Thus, their demand is somewhat genuine and by spending money railway system could be improved immensely which eventually allow people to choose the rails such as metros for the shorter distance even. For example, in Mumbai, the metro trains are available frequently for the convenience of people and they are cost-effective as well. Overall, the idea of using money to build railway tracks could be sustainable in a long run. However, there is a number of reasons that reflecting that construction of roads is far more important than railways. Firstly, the world's major cities are over-crowded with the population due to massive migration rates. Consequently, traffic congestion has become common in the cities and people often faced the gridlocks on the road. The other important aspect which highlights the need to spend money on roads is to construct the three or four-laned roads because due to the single roads the road accidents are escalating day by day and the poorly constructed roads are the big hurdle for the masses while travelling. If the government spend money in order to construct highways and subway system, then traffic jams could be alleviated at a large extent and the chances of road mishaps will be reduced simultaneously. For instance, in Canada, the vast majority of highways have four lanes which could control the traffic in an efficient way. It is entirely necessary to think about the infrastructure of roads in the first place. In conclusion, despite the railways are the effective way to cover the much distance in a lesser time as they need money to improve the facilities, I believe that highways and link roads should keep in consideration before allocating funds on the railway system.