Over the last few decades, there has been an increase in international tourism. Some people think that tourism is beneficial for local communities and should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A tour of any destination will help a human being to learn a lot of new things and come out from any past stress or sorrows. In addition, it is also beneficial for local communities in many ways. I agree with these arguments, we shall discuss the positives of international tourism in the coming paragraphs. On one hand, tourism to another international or intra-national destination will help us to learn new languages, cultures and customs. It will act in a very positive way in one's life such as a tour to the mountain of Himalayas will make us feel light-hearted after the tour ended. It is one of the pleasant places in the world, you will enjoy as much as you can and it can be a gateway for your self-realisation as many people found it as their religious destination also. Tour to Mecca or Jerusalem is some of the other examples. On the other hand, tourism will help to improve the local economy of the destination country. For instance, consider countries such as Thailand, Srilanka and cities such as Dubai and Goa. Tourism is the major source of income there. As per the latest survey by the World Bank, tourism accounts for 15% of the world's income. As the tourists arrive at one point, they start renting a room, have their food, do shopping and also do sightseeing. Each activity of tourists brings money to sectors such as hotels, restaurants, tourist agents, airlines, guides and local cab drivers. Moreover, most of the tourists are interested in buying arts and crafts which are very famous in the local areas. This will definitely increase the economy of a country and provide jobs for many. For example, India is a country where tourism accounts for 5% of total jobs. Besides tourism brings more jobs and money there are some problems such as more waste generation by travellers and some times there may arise other sorts of dispute such tourists not respecting local cultures, but these all are negligible issues. To conclude, based on the above arguments and facts tourism helps directly or indirectly the world to sink with each and every culture and gives enormous supports to the economies to grow. Though some problem such as cultural issues arises here and there that can be uprooted with minimal government efforts.