Some people believe that public libraries are necessary while others believe that these are not that important nowadays. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the last few years, people have had contrasting views on whether public libraries are important or not in such a technological era. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the view that local libraries will always remain crucial for both individuals and society. To begin with, despite the fact that nowadays e-books have become increasingly widespread among readers, many individuals still prefer the traditional way of reading from a physical book. Therefore, the presence of a city library in every neighbourhood has fruitful impacts on its dwellers. Because they will be motivated to read on a regular basis. For example, it has been proven that more egyptians started to read after the government had established The Alexandria Library. Indeed, the more citizens read, the more knowledge they will gain and the more they will contribute to their society. Furthermore, another reason why I believe that local libraries are fundamental is that they encourage parents to read to their children from an early age. Owing to this hectic and fast paced life, parents are usually time poor. Consequently, only when they find a library near their homes will they have the opportunity to accompany their offspring there. Obviously, this will be reflected on the whole society since children are considered to be the building blocks of every nation. In conclusion, although some people might argue that libraries are not beneficial, compared to the past, I completely disagree with this view. This is because of their immense positive impacts on individuals’ knowledge acquisition, motivating parents to read to their offspring and on the society as a whole.