In some countries, there are fewer young people who listen to or play classical music these days. Why is this? Should young people be encouraged to play or perform classical music?

In the temporary world, a taste of classical music is less popular than before amongst millennials. For this matter, its characteristic is picky for both listeners and players. Personally speaking, it is pointless to encourage children to play or perform classical music. Firstly, there is an evolution of musical favor in the midst of individuals in this modern society. As a result of developing other types of music such as pop or hip-hop music, younger people tend to dismiss the original melody of classical music. Specifically, these melodies stemmed from modern music reflect the reality of hectic lifestyle and originate from people of this age, so it is easy to wind the heart of the listeners. Illustrated by EDM festivals which is electronic music seems to be very appealing to late teens while few people listen to symphonic music because of its gentle melody. Secondly, high requirements for being fluent in musical performance is picky for players. Classical musicians and performers have to be professionally and independent financially because musical instruments are very expensive, as well as training courses are time-consuming. For instance, a pianist is required to study for eight to nine years to graduate at the music academy. Subsequently, the development of today's melody and high requisite are account for a downward trend of musical music among young people. Apart from its long-term existence, it is insignificant to urge young people to pursue classical music. Unless they have the inner motivation, they will intentionally follow their musical interest. For instance, it is more essential to have a genuine passion rather than parental pressure. Otherwise, it will be counterproductive for forcing them to play because it is meaningless to compel someone to play a costly subject and onerous recreational activities To conclude, young people enjoy music which is prevalent in society rather than classical music. Due to its pricey equipment and a long period of education, it is unnecessary to incite the younger generation chasing it.