The percentage of overweight children in western societies has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the possible causes and effects of this disturbing trend and offer a solution.

One in every five children in the U.S. is obese and as the numbers are rising, so the problems associated with this. Obesity is the widespread pandemic which is not only taking a toll on developed countries but also developing nations. This essay will discuss the possible causes of rising in obesity among children and the effects on their lifestyle, along with the possible solutions for overcoming this dangerous phase. Due to paucity of time, working parents prefer packaged foods, frozen foods and even junk meals as their everyday meals, not only for themselves but also for their kids. These outsourced meals not only lack in nutritious value furthermore; they are full of carbohydrates, fats and over the top sugar. Recently, I read an article from Reader’s digest which claimed these above-mentioned foods as the leading cause of cancer among teenagers in the USA. The other reason for detrimental energy is lack of physical exercise in children’s lifestyle. Physical activity helps in producing digestive enzymes which are important for our body to function normally. With the upgrade of technology, children are exposed to a variety of virtual games which have replaced physical sports. These kids are no longer going out to play with their friends, instead,they are goofing themselves into their computers and play-station. This toxic lifestyle, which is exhibiting junk food and virtual games, has worsened the mental strength as well as the physical well-being of people. Nowadays, the majority of these young kids are suffering from life-threatening diseases such as diabetes, thyroid, and even cancer. Along with that, lack of social circle have made them isolated leading to depression, and if not handled timely and properly, these kids commit suicide. As per the recent research conducted by the World health organization, depression cases among teenagers have increased by 75% in the last one decade. In this formidable state, it is important to have massive participation of various stakeholders including parents, schools, government and company. It contains various measures starting from the realization among for the poisonous appetite they are consuming and also letting their kids delve into this diet. Secondly, it becomes the school's responsibility to provide healthy food options in their canteen and also educate and encourage their students to participate in sports. The government should regulate the fast-food company’s ingredients and should research the harmful effects of these foods on people’s health. To sum up, it is a high time that the government all around the world should act together and need to work on the severe health issues that these young kids are facing. These kids are the future of the nation and with their deteriorating wellbeing; our future is also at stake.