Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

The imposition of capital punishment on heinous crime committance committee has always been an issue of controversy. While some people consider such sanction intolerable, others believe that such a penalty is necessary to maintain the decorum of the society. In this essay, I will discuss both arguments and explain my support for the latter view. The death warrant is considered an abominable punishment for several reasons. Firstly, the strongest argument is that it strips off one of the most rudimentary rights of any human, which is the right to live. Irrespective of the gravity of offence made by a person, no one can infringe this right as it is an inherent universal right of every person. Moreover, It is scientifically believed that there are always physiological and psychological factors behind the execution of grave crimes. For instance, As shown on a documentary channel on criminal minds, unexplained derangement of neurotransmitters was seen in almost all criminals tested. This occurrence has an unknown aetiology and had just occurred on unfortunate individuals. Considered as mentally unsound, offenders of serious offences are fit to be classified as psychologically-ill patients who are likely to get better with and reformed through a series of treatments. However, I believe that death sentence is largely necessary for maintaining the overall safety and security of the modern society who are highly vulnerable to vicious crimes like terrorism, genocide, war crimes, sexual misconduct or treason. For example, Saudi Arabia and the U.A.E have the least count of criminality based on the latest criminality survey due to death sentence imposition to whoever is convicted with grave offences. Although harsh in nature, this is a strong deterrence against criminal minds as they are aware that an unforgiving law is entwined on every serious malfeasance committed. Conversely, countries who only inflict sentences like long-term custodial has high percentages of crime rates. Furthermore, if a capital sanction is applied, the government can save taxpayers money which goes into the resources of unworthy prisoners hence, it can be utilized, instead, in national upliftment. To recapitulate, the death penalty has its own advantages and disadvantages, however, in my view, to keep a leash on illegal activities, state-sanctioned killing is necessary to thwart serious crimes and ensure safety for the vulnerable society.