Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student’s performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Few topics have drawn as much scholarly attention as an effective way to assess a student's performance are formal examinations not continual assessment, especially in the past few years. Although there is substantial advocacy for this trend, I am of the opinion that this advocacy is unwarranted, as it fails to take into account the countless drawbacks entwined with formal examinations. Primarily, with the formal examinations in schools, students only study for grades and sometimes, anyone can clear an exam without any effort. On the one hand, by writing formal examinations, students can feel extremely stressful and nervous which is not good for health. On the other, these emotions can affect performance in a bad way. In addition, examinations do not always test students' knowledge and their work, many times examinations fail to assess a student's understanding of a subject. Examples of this can be seen in many examination halls, where students sit for writing answers for a worthless question paper. Admittedly, it is true that continual assessment such as course work and projects and the like are not prefered in many schools, but one cannot dismiss the beneficial aspects associated with it. Working on an academic project not only gives a chance to gain practical experience but also understand the subject in depth. Continual assessment will check students' work for each and every chapter which will give a clear understanding of a student's knowledge and students' never feel stress or nervous in these types of practice. However, these benefits appear to be insignificant against the deluge of the popularity of the formal examinations. In conclusion, I would not wish to underestimate the concerns regarding the continual assessment of a student. Nevertheless, I feel that the approach of assignments, projects will stand in good stead, as far as assessing students' knowledge is concerned.