It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime is a direct influence of the increase in violence in media. To what extent do you agree with the above statement?

Some people believed that media promotes violent content which results in i ncrease in juvenile crimes. I partially agree with the former notion that media plays a vital role in influencing the youth negatively. However, this cannot be the sole reason for delinquent behaviour among young people. To begin with, films, reality shows, web series and even news channels normalise unlawful activities by depicting offensive behaviour as adventurous and fun. As a result,it encourages minors to be diligent. For instance, over speeding and rash driving are depicted as captivated in movies and teens try to imitate it by breaking the traffic rules which can result in serious road accidents. Furthermore, the surroundings of an individual impact them the most. It is believed that children with disturbed family environment face behavioural problems because they imbibe the aggression, frustration from their immediate environment which provoke young children to indulge in crime. To illustrate, the social learning theory state that a child’s social interaction is highly influenced by their family environment. In conclusion, I believe that today’s youth is driven by the superficial world to social media or media in general but primary caregivers also play a vital role in the upbringing of a child. There can be many more reasons for a child to commit a criminal offence at a young age but these more are the major ones.