In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some of the measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of the aging population.

Nowadays, people are living longer in rich countries. This scenario brings new issues to the population and the government. In this essay, I will discuss some of the problems which might arise and propose some ways to mitigate the issues. Firstly, having an elderly society makes people spend not planned money on self care. This is because aging can bring unexpected health situations which can shake the financial environment at home. For example, a not predicted disease inside a family can cause an uncomfortable money reorganization. Saving part of the monthly income to these types of moments can be a solution to prevent this issue. Furthermore, this context can increase the necessity of the governors on spending more resources in public well being. It happens because it is part of the state’ obligations to provide a good structure to their citizens. For example, old people have more difficulty when it comes to walking in the streets. Due to this, the politicians should invest money in keeping the avenues safe for them. An option to solve this type of problem is to develop a national programme focused on the elderly necessities. To sum up, an old population can increase their money spent on sudden health problems which can lead to unpleasant financial cuts in a family budget. Besides that, it also can put a light on the political obligations to the society. The government should be the principal responsable to help people dealing with these changes through TV campaigns and public actions.