Too much money is wasted on repairing old buildings that should be used to knock them down and build new ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that old buildings have a historical value. However, some of them need to be repaired and, usually, a lot of money is spent on repairing such buildings. In my opinion, the best option is to build new constructions from the beginning, even if it is necessary to knock old buildings down. This essay will present arguments to support my thought. First, the aged buildings have an old structure and generally it is more expensive to repair such structures rather than start from the beginning. For example, in Japan, a country commonly hit by earthquakes, the cost to adapt old buildings to an ambiental disaster such as earthquakes is extremely high and for this reason, constructors are prone to knock old buildings down and start new ones. Second, constructing a building from the beginning allows engineers to use the most up to date resources. In other words, the best technologies can be used in these new constructions and, as a result, these buildings would be more modern and secure. In addition, not only constructing from the beginning saves money, but also saves time. Some buildings are constructed from the scratch faster than old ones which are under repair. Finally, when the external aspect is considered, new buildings look better than old ones because they provide a more futuristic view. To sum up, I think the best option is to start a building from the beginning rather than repair an old one. The money saved by doing this could be used in other possible improvements.