There are several advantages to hosting an international sporting event. There are disadvantages too. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

The significance of hosting international sports has always been debatable and people hold varied perceptions about it. International sports play a major role in promoting peace and harmony among different countries. However, there are drawbacks where the host country falls into financial debt. I strongly believe that the advantages of hosting sports events internationally outweigh its disadvantages. This essay will discuss both the pros and cons of hosting sports events along with my perception in the subsequent paragraphs. To commence with, organizing international games promotes peace and relationships among different countries strengthen. To elucidate, different nations come forward to support the host country in various ways such as providing financial aid and training to the sportsperson. For example, when commonwealth games were held in 2010, Australia came forward to provide financial help to India. As a result, the bond between the two countries became strong. It is, therefore, necessary that sports are held to maintain good relations among countries. On the other hand, organizing international games involves a huge amount of money. To exaggerate, the host country has to invest a plethora of money in arranging all the facilities for the participants while making the event successful and satisfactory. Besides, the host country could utilize the money not only for the well-being of the citizens but also for developing the country. For instance, the Olympic Games which were held in place in 2019 left the country in debt. Hence, it can be said that the host country might face financial problems in the long run. To conclude, although the host country has to face some repercussions for holding the sports event internationally, maintaining peace and healthy relationships among different countries is extremely important. I firmly believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.