Some people believe that school molds the intellect and skills and not the virtues and attitudes of its students. Do you agree or disagree? GIve examples based on your own knowledge and experience.

Some individuals adhere to the view that schools do not influence the values of the students and that, the curriculum focuses solely on the aspects of intellect and skills. I completely disagree with this notion. Thus, I believe that schools have not only nourished the objective reasoning of the students, but also the other aspects of their well-being. To begin with, the academic system of this country primarily based its values education with its traditions and Catholic beliefs. Regardless if an institution is a conservative private or a non-sectorial national university, its core of instructions for moral values originates from the overwhelming influence of Catholicism in the region. Additionally, as early as grade school years, proper and socially accepted behaviours and attitudes are already integrated to the adolescent students. These teachings are brought up to their secondary and tertiary education years. Moreover, schools are considered to be the second home for both children and youth. This is the role of the instructors to not just feed the students with textbook knowledge, but additionally provide them with the support that looks at the whole person. This holistic approach takes account of one's physical, emotional, mental, social and spiritual development. It is, in turn, evidenced by the broad variety of subjects offered in schools. Furtherly, with the aid of the growing technology, the awareness and perspectives of the undergraduates can be completely transformed. Meaning to say, values also undergo certain changes. Because of these possibilities, schools should intervene by upgrading their system. In my experience, Catholic schools can be enormously influential to a student's beliefs and values. Its dominance tends to suffocate those who dissent, hence, commend the ones who conform. With this rather possible drawback, imparting values education should not necessarily require rigidity from the institution. Education can be consistently achieved with plain initiative and free will from the students. In conclusion, I think that virtues and attitudes can be attributed to any academic institution. However, a person's values can also be trumped by society and even by the school community.