Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars ?

Numbers of cars have increased steeply in the last three decades in an unprecedented manner. As a result, the problem of traffic jam has increased enormously in some cities. I reckon that figures for cars have soared to a height that has resulted in a lot of traffic problems. The possible solutions to this problem will be discussed in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, with the increase in population car ownership has increased proportionately. Moreover, because of limited resources and available spaces to make wide roads has increased the severity of the problem. Therefore nowadays, traffic jams have become quite frequent in metro-cities. To exemplify, studies show that in the cosmopolitan cities a person is spending an hour in the traffic jam on the daily basis. The possible solutions to manage the traffic jams could be that the government should discourage the use of cars in everyday life. They should implement stringent laws to reduce car ownership and should focus on improving the quality of public transport. For instance, France has managed its traffic jam problem by imposing a high tax on the purchase of private vehicles, as a result, cost of cars have peaked to an extent that general public has started using public transport in daily life. To conclude, rapidly increased figures of cars on roads have led to the traffic jam problem in some cities, but it can be managed by the government by implementing some strict laws to discourage the purchase of cars such as imposing higher tax on private vehicles and improving quality of public transport.