With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

A few people believe that the emergence of online books has decreased the habit of using handheld books, whereas the dissidents disagree with it. This essay will go through both the advantages and drawbacks of gadget book reading as well as real book reading. Primarily, this essay looks into benefits like easy adaptability and then moves to implications like physical troubles. To begin with, the increasing trend of web books leads to paper-free society since the priority is given to the internet than the paper. The amount of paper used for printing can be reduced followed by that, cost incurred for printing and recycling also be reduced. For example, A printed material accounts to more than $100 which involves a lot of processes to be done while unprinted digitalized copies do not involve much cost or process to be available in the readers’ hand. Secondly, electronic devices are always easy to carry anywhere as they are compatible. During travels, it is highly recommendable to read through a gadget like a phone as we constantly carry it with us all time. One of my friends who likes to read any kind of stuff during her travels, for instance, would like to do it from her personal device once downloaded or readily available on the internet. Hence, it is good to encourage online reading. On the other hand, the digital reading may bring some physical troubles to the concerned persons. A report from the World Health Organisation (WHO) underlined that 65% of people across the world are suffering from eye fatigue and finger paralysis due to prolonged screening time. On the other aspect, internet signals are not stable and the download speed may be less in some locations. For example, deep forest, highways are zones where we can find low internet buffering even no signal at all and, in such case, it is difficult to read. To conclude, I say that electronic reading is acceptable to some extent taking into consideration the compatibility and minimising the paper usage. But at the same time, some productive measures to be taken to reduce the long screen time as it is the major drawback of reading through unprinted material.