In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

In numerous nations, young individuals are being suggested to drop a year just after passing high school and encouraged to travel or work during the period before commencing further studies. Advantages and disadvantages of the gap year will be discussed in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, with the privatisation of education cost of pursuing university studies has increased enormously. As a result, it has become extremely difficult for poor people to pay for their higher education. Therefore, whilst a gap year in between the high school and university studies gives an opportunity to the poor people to earn some money by working, rich people finds it as an opportunity to gain experience by travelling. For example, studies show that approximately 70% of the students who choose to drop a year after schooling, did so to earn and save some money so that they can pay university fee. On contrary, there are few disadvantages of this and the most important amongst them is that some people finds it hard to encourage themselves for higher education after a gap year. Moreover, they loose their interest in studies and keep themselves busy in earning money without noticing that they could have earned more after finishing their degrees. To exemplify, as per the latest studies it has been found that 30% of the students who opted for a gap year, did not join their further studies because they were satisfied with their present earning. To conclude, some pupils choose to drop a year after their schooling to work and travel so that they can gain some experience and can save some money. However, it has some drawbacks also as during this period many loose their interest in studies and finds it hard to enrol for university studies.