These days, problems with pollution are becoming worse, particularly in large cities. What are the reasons for this and how can this be solved? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Pollution is a major crisis in most countries. Especially in metropolitan cities, people suffer from polluted air, noise and water. There are several reasons such as migration from rural to urban areas, i ncrease in the population, and under-performing governments. At the same time, if the right steps are taken, then this issue can be controlled. In this essay, I will examine the reasons and provide possible solutions for this issue, with relevant examples. Contamination of air and water is a common problem every developed or the developing nation is facing currently. Causes for this crisis is mainly the increase in the number of people migrating from villages to cities, especially to the tier-1 cities in search of better job and education. Besides, people do not follow the rules imposed by the government. For example, authorities request the public to carpool when they are travelling alone with their colleagues, thinking this can improve the air quality to some extent. But rarely people follow these steps and end up breathing unhealthy air. Similarly, the government is also equally responsible for the increase in the levels of contamination. Encouraging industries to acquire forest lands and giving importance to urbanization is resulting in loss of trees, thus reducing the forest land. For instance, recently in India a huge forest land was destroyed and was given to a private organization to build a car manufacturing unit. Such decisions should not be allowed and an alternative should be thought of. Although many governments are taking the necessary steps, it is not sufficient. The General public should become aware of the consequences of what they are causing today. Behaving like a responsible citizen such as sharing a car when there is an opportunity to do so, to not litter waste into rivers and to plant more and more trees. People in power should come up with innovative ideas to engage the general public in contributing towards controlling pollution with activities such as regular cleanliness drives, plantation. Furthermore, encouraging people to commute in public transport will help to reduce pollution. In conclusion, human beings are the cause of the problem of pollution and only they can resolve. Following proper directives given by the authorities and contributing in whichever way possible to control the contamination of surrounding should be done by every individual.