Some people think that there should be some strict controls about noise. Others think that they can just make as much noise as they want. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Audibility differs from person to person. Some people cannot tolerate high volume whereas others enjoy the high volume. Unwanted sound is considered as noise. There are people who think they can make as much noise as they want while others think there should be some strict controls about the noise. In my opinion, imposing regulations to control noise is very important. In this essay, I shall discuss both the views. There are several reasons why noise should be controlled. Firstly, it is difficult for students to concentrate while studying. For instance, when students share the apartments, they tend to get disturbed by the one's who make a lot of noise by doing parties and playing loud music on regular basis. Their concentration levels drop and ultimately affect their exam results. Another reason is that senior citizens have weak audibility. High volumes can damage their eardrums more and can also cause serious illness. For example, elderly people have troubles having sleep in noise. It should also be considered that there are "silent zone" or "no honking zone" boards on the roads where there are schools, hospitals, police stations etc. Noise can disturb the patients overcoming their illness and the students studying at school. For instance, when a teacher is teaching and there is continuous noise on the road, the students cannot hear the teacher and lose their interest in the subject. On the other hand, people who argue that they can make as much noise as they want argue that living in a democratic country, they can do as they wish. They play loud music during the parties and celebrations without being considerate about other people. Then there are concerns about bursting crackers during festivals. For example, firecrackers are burst in India during the festival of Diwali. This apart from causing noise also increases noise pollution. In conclusion, although there are strong arguments on both the sides of the case, there should be strict controls about noise as it helps students to concentrate and cause less disturbance to elderly people. I strongly recommend that the government should take stringent steps to control noise.