The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some individuals consider the ultimate target of scientific inventions to help the human race. While I agree with this idea, I believe that it is far from reality, as most of the scientists are driven by other factors. In this essay, the reasons for my claim will be mentioned. To begin with, if we take a look at the roots of some of the technology that we use every day, we will find out that they were invented out of curiosity or to serve a completely different purpose other than improving our lives. For example, the first computers were created during the second world war and the aim was to extract data from the encrypted communications which the nazi army used. The target of nuclear science, similarly, was to bombard Japan; not being used as an energy source. On the other hand, it would be much better if scientists increased their focus on assisting their own kind. In fact, examples of when scientists utilized their knowledge in favour of people, can mostly be seen in the field of healthcare. Many of the cures for different diseases such as diabetes would not be around if it were not for the dedication of the scientists in charge. By utilizing this mindset, more life-saving inventions can be presented, like a cure for cancer. To conclude, while I side with the statement, we can not ignore the fact about science and its aim, which is not always to improve life standards. Lastly, it will be much more beneficial for the human race if they just focus on useful aspects of science.