• Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. • What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There has been an observation that several parents buy a great number of toys for their children to play with. The following advantages and disadvantages of playing with several toys for a toddler are listed below. The primary advantage of playing with many toys is that the youngster playing with them would feel that his / her parents love him / her a lot and thereby would show more gratitude and respect to own parents in coming years of adulthood. This feeling of more respect towards parents would help the infant in a securing a great future as that infant would not be influenced by bad friends as he / she would turn to parents for every decision in life. The secondary advantage is that the minor will observe increased brain development in the early years of personal life due to playing with many toys. The experience of playing with a high number of toys would help children learn counting and mathematics at a faster rate than others. For instance, we have seen that Indian children have achieved more laurels in mathematics when compared with European children and that is because Indian parents give their children a lot of handheld toys whereas European children are not involved in active play with toys. So, the advantages can be summarized as respect to parents and increased brain development. However, there are some disadvantages to the child playing with many toys. Firstly, most of the toys are made of recycled cheap plastic and overexposure to such material would be harmful to the youngster’s skin and eyes and that is the reason why most of the Indian children wear glasses at a very tender age. Secondly, too much indulgence into playing with toys would lead to lesser social contact with fellow children and thereby missing the change to become a better social person. After all, we are living in a society as a social being and staying one's own cave of toys and not interacting with others would lead to personality disorders in future. Hence, the disadvantages can be briefly mentioned as overexposure to recycled cheap plastic and minimal social interaction In conclusion, we can say that when parents buy a lot of toys for their children to play with, there are advantages and disadvantages for the child having those large number of toys. The advantages are loving and respecting own parents more than friends and elevated brain development. The disadvantages are overexposure to recycled cheap plastic and minimal social interaction.