Nowadays, there are many television advertisements aimed at children. What are the effects of these advertisements on children? Should TV advertisements be controlled?

It is true that commercials which targeted at young generations are dramatically increasing in recent decades as there is growing potential in youth markets, but this phenomenon brings negative influences on young people. In that case, I support authorities to introduce regulations to ban this kind of commercials. In terms of the advertisements’ effects on the youth, one of the most significant drawbacks is to persuade financially dependent individuals in trying new advertised products, which is exactly what advertisers want. This leads to young minds to be influenced and to require their parents or families to purchase the new products, and they normally do not pay attention to the price and duration of the items. According to my experience, the toys shown in televisions are generally expensive, which might be unaffordable for some families in poverty. However, as young persons still have had no idea about the price and money yet, they would feel dissatisfied with the rejection from their parents. Hence, it is obvious that children-aimed ads are unnecessary and harmful. Because of the negative influence on children-aimed commercials, I totally agree that governments need to implement a regulation to prevent those ads to appear on the screens as well as other social media. Taking Korean Movie and Television Review and Classification Board as an example, the commercials are classified as different age groups by the board, and there are warnings of minimum suitable age on the screens if advertisements and programs are not suitable to be watched by young audiences. And also, children’s television shows are normally advertisement free. So parents can guide children to watch proper shows without concerning about any advertisement. I think other countries could imitate a similar classification system to prohibit children from being influenced by advertisements. In conclusion, youth-targeted commercials generally bring unhealthy values to children, which should be banned by authorities as soon as possible.