In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

The way of work in which people work has changed in a significant way. While still, some people have to travel to their workplace but due to the advancements of technical devices nowadays most people can work from their homes. There are both positive and negative outcomes of this trend, this essay is going to discuss them. To start with the benefits of working from home, firstly, it provides the flexibility to employees in their working lives which can be beneficial for parents and those who live far from their workplace. Furthermore, working from home is also more comfortable because it provides the freedom to employees and they can take a break from work whenever they are tired, or it is required. Another advantage is that trough internet, a person can apply for jobs in different countries and can work from home on their laptops or other technical devices. Therefore, it will benefit the employees to find jobs locally as well as globally. On the other hand, this phenomenon has some drawbacks as well. It can affect the workers from their social perspectives. This is because some people live alone and only travelling to their workplace and working in an office is a way of interaction with other people which is joyful for them. Not only this but many people may lack the discipline to complete their job tasks without the supervision of their boss or managers. To conclude, the advantages of working from outweighing the disadvantages. The ideal arrangements for both possible ways with a certain amount of flexibility and comfort can be favourable for organisations and their employees.