Many people prefer to watch foreign films than locally produced films.  Why could this be?  Should governments give more financial support to local film industries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many individuals enjoy watching foreign movies rather than movies produced from their native countries, as these films may act as a window to other cultures. I strongly believe that governments should fund regional movie industries as it will encourage filmmakers and potential content creators to make more creative motion pictures. Many people decide to watch films that have different languages to see how other people live as well as their backgrounds. This is because movies can provide a glimpse of other nations’ landmarks and residents’ habits. In other words, people can feel as if they traveled to another country. Moreover, each country is famous for its genre. For example, in India, Bollywood is famous for making comedy and action films; England is known for its theatrical and historical releases. As a result, this makes several individuals keen on watching international film festivals, as they get to experience different tastes. Governments, in my opinion, should provide more funding to local movie businesses. Providing scholarships for visual art schools will encourage interested individuals to pursue their passion. This financial support will also encourage young filmmakers and directors to be more creative, and it will provide them with an opportunity to take part in international movie festivals such as the Oscars so that they can show the world their work. For instance, Japan’s animation studios were able to rise to fame through the Oscars. In conclusion, many people do watch foreign movies as it opens the door for them to know more about other countries and enjoy various plotlines. I do believe that regional show businesses should be supported and governmentally fund, as this will encourage young directors and producers to unleash their creativity.