In recent years many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this positive or negative development?

A lot of small shops have been closed due to popular customer preference for shopping in large malls in recent years. This essay will provide the answer to the question of why this situation is a positive development? Firstly, the consolidation of shops in malls would provide great convenience to customers. Nowadays, everyone is busy as they lack time to spend on shopping and this is especially observed when any consumer wants to buy a variety of products that are sold in different locations of a city. For instance, we are seeing that most of the malls have groceries, clothing, electronic shops in one location and its customers can complete the shopping all types of items in one visit and this would help those consumers to optimally use their personal time. Thus, these large shopping centres have helped customers to manage time in a better fashion. Secondly, any closure of a small shop would mean everything related to that shop would vacate the premises and this would help the local administration to utilize that vacant property for the betterment of the city. For example, In London, 5 small shops that are next to each other in Buckinhum Square have closed their business and vacated from that location and later the city mayor has opened a new bus station in the same place and this has helped the local people in terms of better transport connectivity as there were no bus stops in that location earlier. Furthermore, the owners of those 5 small shops have actually opened new ones in the London Central Mall and have seen higher profits as there was a surge in the number of customer visits and this is because their new location is in that mall. Therefore, closure and migration of small shops into mall can actually aid the city planners to upgrade the city. To conclude, the closure of small shops due to the fact that malls are the current customer preference for shopping has actually helped a lot of people. Therefore, it is a positive development as it would provide better management of product buyer's time as well as develop the city concurrently.