Some people believe that children should spend all of their free time with their families. Others believe that this is unnecessary or even negative. Discuss the possible arguments on both sides, and say which side you personally support

Nobody can deny that parental influence is crucial for children, at least in cases where children live with their parents, foster parents or guardians. However, it is by no means clear that children should be around the family. This essay will discuss the negative impacts on children spending their time with the nuclear family and other relatives. On the one hand, it may appear advisable for parents to act as role models and to establish ground rules for behaviour by arranging activities with their children. As a result, youngsters are allowed to absorb conventions and codes of conduct which they can then follow themselves, hopefully leading to an absence of problems, for instance, bullying, truancy and delinquency later on. Additionally, being with the family should reduce the risk of children falling victim to crimes, for example,abduction, or coming under the influence of negative peer pressure. This is illustrated by the recent study conducted by Cambridge University that children coming from an affectionate home will have a more successful life. On the other hand, we have to ask whether this is a practical proposition. In a society where many families are dual-income, or where one parent’s role as breadwinner means he/she is away from the family for long periods, it is inevitable that children cannot spend all of their time with the family. Child-minding and after-school childcare are often used in these cases, and if managed properly, these can be perfectly viable alternatives. One clear example is participating and engaging in extracurricular activities can develop their characteristics and can become more social. Equally, it seems that children can in some cases learn a considerable amount from their peers in addition to adults, and allowing them to play without direct supervision may be a benefit. To conclude, it appears that, while family time is essential for bonding and absorbing patterns of behaviour, there are definite advantages when children socialize with other adolescences and adults. This is provided that they are in a safe, well-behaved environment with peers who are themselves reasonably well brought-up.