There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

With crime rates on the rise, many argue that strict measures should be implemented to maintain law and order. While some advocate for the use of the death penalty as a deterrent, others believe that alternative punishments are more appropriate. I am convinced that sentencing should be based on the severity of the crime. Historically, the death penalty was reserved for the most serious offenses. However, with increasing crime rates, some believe it should be applied more broadly. While capital punishment is ethically controversial, it can act as a strong deterrent, discouraging potential offenders from committing crimes. Additionally, reducing the number of long-term prisoners would lessen the financial burden on the government, allowing funds to be redirected toward social development. For instance, a 2010 study by Cambridge University examined the impact of the execution of a serial killer. Surveys conducted among convicted felons revealed that many would have reconsidered their actions had they known the death penalty was a consequence. On the other hand, capital punishment should not be imposed indiscriminately. Economic hardship has led many individuals to commit minor offenses, such as theft, out of desperation rather than malice. In such cases, punishments should be proportionate to the severity of the crime. Furthermore, if the death penalty were applied too broadly, individuals with no hope for the future might commit even more extreme offenses, believing they have nothing left to lose. For example, in 2003, a study conducted in Chiang Mai’s local prison found that the majority of inmates convicted of theft had done so out of an inability to provide for their children. In conclusion, while the death penalty may serve as a deterrent, it can also contribute to further criminal activity if misused. Therefore, I believe that punishments should be determined based on the gravity of the crime rather than applying capital punishment indiscriminately.