Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

It is argued that the amount of domestic waste we are recycling is not sufficient, and governments should enforce laws on recycling to enhance this practice. I personally disagree with this statement, we need to do more in order to make recycling become a daily habit. On the one hand, legal requirements on reprocessing family waste will first benefit the environment. Under these regulations, as residents are acquired not to throw away recyclable materials, the pollution in certain areas will be reduced. Besides that, laws on recycling also encourage individuals to recycle more. These regulations can be requirements for sorting out designated materials at home and applying fines on those who do not follow. For example, the New York city council has issued a ban on dumping unseparated waste; thus, a large amount of plastic waste is segregated and reprocessed. However, despite complicated legal regulations, the amount of waste going to landfills is far greater than the amount of waste being recycled. This is because we are in a shortage of solid waste treatment plants and appropriate technologies to recycle more complex waste. Therefore, governments should also invest in developing technologies and building facilities to process recyclable materials. Furthermore, raising people’s awareness of the environmental crisis or classes teaching recycling lessons should be paid more attention because not everyone has adequate knowledge about how to recycle. In conclusion, mandatory codes as well as the aforementioned measures are necessary to increase the practice of recycling waste in households.