Professional workers like doctors, nurses and teachers make a greater contribution to society and so should be paid more than sports and entertainment personalities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Few topics have drawn as much scholarly attention as the argument that workers such as doctors, nurses, teachers and the like, who contribute more to the society should be paid more than actors and sportsmen. Although there is substantial advocacy for this argument, I'm of the opinion that this advocacy is unwarranted, as it fails to take into account countless drawbacks associated with this argument. Primarily, with the entertainment industry and sports events, people earn millions of dollars. Majority of this money goes to producers or sponsors who invest money on it and actors and players are paid depends on their performance and fame. On the one hand, by having popularity in a certain field, one can pull off the audience into the stadium, irrespective of the event. This makes their market big and give a rise to more profits to the business. On the other, they never get fixed amounts as salaries because the income of celebrities depends on their performance and their market which is not always stable. Examples of all these scenarios will be seen in Hollywood or any sports teams. Players like Ronaldo, actors like Tom Cruise earn millions, but if their performance is dull or movies are not good, they never get paid that much. Admittedly, it is true that workers like doctors and teachers have a greater contribution to the society and they should be paid better prices, but one cannot dismiss the deleterious effects associated with comparing their payscales with the movie or sports stars. These workers are the backbones for the society and their hard work always stand in good stead among the citizens, as far as their wellbeing is concerned. Not only paying them such high wages will destroy the economy, but also make the basic requirements like medicine and education expensive that people can't afford them. However, these drawbacks of comparing professional workers' payments with celebrities look insignificant against the deluge of the benefits these workers offer. In conclusion, I would not wish to underestimate the concerns regarding the payscales of professional workers. Nevertheless, I feel that the effects of paying them more than sportsmen or movie stars are far too great to ignore.