A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The question of whether people are judged by their characteristics or according to their social prestige is a quite debatable topic today. It is considered by some that people are mostly judged by their wealth and social position, not by their core values. Both sides will be examined and I will discuss why I disagree with the given statement. On the one hand, even in the twenty- first -century core values, namely trustworthiness, respectfulness, treating people with kindness, are still considered crucial in today's society. So, without looking for these traits in a person finding a suitable partner or friend is unfeasible. One clear example is the study conducted by Harvard University in 2016, where people were interviewed what they look for in a friend. As a result, it was found that 89% of the interviewee mentioned at least two old-fashioned values. Thus, I do believe that these values are still vital for relationships and for most people. On the other hand, there are celebrities that are judged by their material belongings and their social dignity. This happens as some want to take advantage of their well-off acquaintance. For instance, Paris Hilton, who is a well-known person, is seen with a lot of people around her. Although, that does not mean that they know her personally. Consequently, I think that there are situations where a person's position in the social ladder is more crucial than their inner traits. In conclusion, many think that someone's worth can be determined by their assets and their status, not by their personality. This essay discussed both views and drew conclusions that people are ought not to be judged by the previously mentioned criteria.