Some people think that wild animals should not be kept in zoos. Others believe that there are some good reasons for having zoos. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people believe that wild animals should not be kept in confined spaces like zoos while there are also those who think that there are good reasons for having zoos. Keeping the wildlife in restricted areas and cages could have many negative implications on the animals although those who favour such controlled spaces feel that they are more secure. All living beings must have their natural spaces that are more comfortable and freer for everyone and our faunas should be able to experience this too. Although it can be understood that people feel that zoological parks are necessary to protect the species that are in danger of extinction and for providing animals with proper medical facilities, I believe there are better ways of meeting this goal. Wildlife must have their natural habitat which not only is more comfortable to them but is also essential for there healthy mental state. National Parks and Sanctuaries are a perfect example of preserving the wild in their natural habitation. The animals are provided with medical assistance when they need and are free to roam in forests like they should. In some cases, these animals are also tracked through GPS devices, especially if the species are near extinction, to ensure that they are safe. We must, therefore, be preserving our forests in order to preserve our wildlife. To summarise, I believe wildlife must be preserved in the wild, that is, in their natural environment and spaces rather than being restricted to the four walls of a zoo, as every living being deserves to have spaces that ensure our healthy mental state and freedom.