Some people believe that individuals have no power to improve the environment, and only governments and large companies can make a real difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent years, environmental degradation has become a serious problem worldwide. While some contend that individuals have a crucial impact on the environment, I firmly believe that only governments and major corporations have the ability to bring about substantial change, and the reasons will be thoroughly explained as follows. To begin with, the government can improve the environment by using its resources and authority. Enacting laws that require citizens to use green alternatives, such as electric vehicles, renewable energy sources, and recyclable items, can significantly reduce global warming, pollution, and deforestation. Moreover, if the state launches awareness campaigns to explain the negative effects of unsustainable actions can ultimately encourage individuals to adopt more sustainable lifestyles. For example, a 2020 study in the United States found that 45% of local people purchased reusable containers following a wide-ranging campaign about the detrimental outcomes of using plastic. Furthermore, large companies can protect biodiversity in numerous ways. By adopting eco-friendly approaches, including biodegradable packaging, plant-based plastic, and reusable items, big businesses can influence individuals ' behaviour, thereby reducing personal carbon footprints. As a result, when companies choose sustainable methods, fewer forests will be destroyed due to lower demand for logging and, in turn, habitats of several species will be preserved. For instance, Sweden is considered one of the cleanest nations because corporations only produce and promote eco-friendly items that are recyclable. To conclude, although some individuals may consider alternatives that help protect the planet, I am convinced that governments and major corporations have the power to influence people's choices in a positive way.