Some people think that it is better to build more public parks and sports facilities in new towns rather than shopping malls. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that building more public parks and sports facilities in a new town is better than building shopping malls while there are also those who think otherwise. In a new town set up, having open and green spaces for kids and elderly to play, exercise and keep fit is one of the necessities in today’s time. One could argue that shopping malls facilitate functioning of life by bringing many of our day-to-day requirements under one roof. They could also provide employment opportunities to the people in that area. However, with growing infrastructural development, it is hard to find clean and green open spaces than it is to find malls or areas to shop. One could purchase things online and there are usually many local vendors catering to different needs of people through their small outlets. A park or garden on the other hand has become a rare place in today’s time. An open area with greenery and sports facility could encourage kids to play, elders to exercise while also providing a quiet space for senior citizens to have a fun stroll and fresh air. It has numerous health benefits and facilitates an all-round development and well-being of people from all age groups. Plants and trees that are planted in these areas also add to the well-being of the environment and ensure fresh and pollution-free air for all. Hence, I think it is way better and healthier to make public parks and sports facilities in an urban area than constructing any malls as health and well-being should take precedence over facilities to shop.