Today’s schools should teach their students how to survive financially in the world today. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Most people would agree that over the past few decades the task of managing one’s personal finances has become of a more complex and daunting nature. In this essay, I will discuss a number of reasons that led to that change, and why I firmly believe that improvements and modifications in our education system are much needed. Surviving financially has always been a paramount skill that anyone has to have in order to lead a stress-free life, and although this is not a new skill, it is no longer as easy as it used to be. The introduction of credit cards, for example, has left lots of people in huge debt. Not only that, but the wrongful idea that one could repay one card’s debt through another dept card has left more people, especially the youth, trapped in that never-ending cycle. Moreover, unlike most of their parents who had 9 to 5 jobs, more young people today are trying different ways of earning a living; like freelancing and entrepreneurship. To cope with these changes, our educational system has to change as well. I would argue that a student, who have been taught skills like; how to file for taxes and how to plan and stick to a budget, would be more prepared to face their finances challenges better than another who has not, and would even make a better future businessman. So, to sum up, the changes in today’s world, makes it obvious that schools and universities should prepare their students to be more independent and responsible for their financials.