Most countries aim to improve their standard of living through economic development, but many important social values can be lost as a result. Do the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no denying the fact that many states seek to enhance the conditions of living by improving their economy, as a result, several social values are being lost. While there is a commonly held belief that it is important to enhance the standard of living regardless of its impact, there is also an argument that countries should preserve their own social values. This essay will analyse this topic from both points of view and express my opinion. On one hand, governments are responsible for encountering poverty by improving the economy which will affect people's lives. In other words, by doing this, it will prevent people from committing crimes because they want to have a better life. This may lead to a massive decrease in violence and crimes. For example, in developing countries, the criminal rate is high because of poor condition of living, which will affect individuals' security. On the other hand, there are undeniable challenges associated with focusing only on improving the economy such as losing the ethical values of society. It is also possible to say that concentrating only on money may lead society to become more materialistic and lose its humanity. Moreover, it causes individuals to look after their own interests without thinking of others. For instance, this trend often appears in advanced countries, which have a high level of living but a lack of empathy between each other but at the same time, the low rates of crime are remarkable. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question, On balance, in my opinion, I think the advantages of improving people's lives outweigh the downsides because doing this, will give them better lives and prevent them from doing bad things.