In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Issues related to fast food are frequently discussed these days. It is argued that governments should release a higher tax on fast food because of increasing fast food consumption that can lead to health problems. I firmly disagree with this assertion and the explanation will be shown. The principal reason is that tax is not the root of the problem. To explain,  A higher fast food tax paid to governments will impact on rising product prices because producers need equal their benefits. As a result, some people especially poor people cannot effort to consume this kind of foodstuff. In fact, most consumers of this meal in some countries are The poor. For instance, the majority consumer of Hungry Jack, Australian convenient diet, is labour because of its cost as well as size. An additional point is that higher tax can result in some sectors of the industrial productions; such as local farm and employee. In addition, workers may be laid off since producers need to reduce the cost of the productions. This means that higher tax rarely affects the middle and upper-class people which are the great proportion of fast food consumption in many countries but directly affect the poor class. Generally, people opt to eat convenient stuff as it can easily eat. Most people have not concerned about their health problems. Hence, individuals should be more educated about the effect of fast food on their bodies rather than receive a higher tax. In conclusion, getting a higher tax on fast food is not a suitable way to tackle the problem of getting too much fast food in the countries. Therefore individuals and governments should share responsibilities to cope with this issue.