In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some places, kids are being infiltrated by the belief that everything can be achieved if they want to work hard. The main benefits of this are motivating children to have a dream and train their perseverance, however, the belief also possesses drawbacks such as they tend to rely solely on working hard and they do not develop beneficial relationships. Instilling a hard work ethic from a young age will motivate them to strive to pursue their dream. Most kids dream of having a successful professional career when they are adults. To achieve these dreams, they should be eager to study hard at school so they can enter top universities which most likely increases their chances of landing their dream jobs. For example, many famous skilled doctors graduated from John Hopkins. It has a 9% acceptance rate, which only accepts bright students around the world. In addition, during their study, this belief helps them to be persistent even though they may face hurdles such as difficult tests. Even though having a hard work mindset is beneficial, it also has negative impacts such as they only depend on working hard for long hours and are unable to develop social relationships with people around them. Many students are busy with their studies at school and additional courses they take after school hours, thus they do not have enough time to unwind, let alone socialize. Whereas, building relationships with teachers or lecturers may open opportunities such as information about scholarships that will help their future. For instance, some students could continue their master's degree by approaching the professors of their subject interest. The professors could offer them a research project study and funding. In conclusion, infixing a hard-working culture to children can incentivize them to attain their goals and become more persistent in paving their way to their dreams. Nevertheless, this culture also causes exhaustion due to requiring a lot of effort and leaving them unable to build social lives.