Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while other thinks is has disadvantages to this. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Sport is an important part of a healthy lifestyle and nowadays it is connected to marketing strategies, most of the companies use it as a tool in order to endorse their products. The majority of the population thinks that it is great to increase particular products sells, boost stock values and overall revenue in terms of the company’s prospect. However, others believe that it has tremendous drawbacks in relation to consumers. In my opinion, it will definitely impose negative impacts that might affect general people. On the one hand, sport plays a vital role in everyone’s life; recent marketing trends are changing radically in the sports industry since it is used as a marketing medium to sell products or services. Also, most people fancy sports, they stimulated to buy products/services and the companies use this as a tool to promote their products by financing sports events. For example, IPL Cricket matches are one of the most well-known game events in India which are organized every year in spring. Around 90% of Indian companies sponsor IPL matches and display their products/services in order to boost their sales which ultimately increase their revenues and financial prospects. On the other hand, sponsoring sports events will encourage people to purchase things which they would rarely use. In this case, people who are interested in sports will spend a huge amount of money on advertised goods and those can be counted as unnecessary expenditures. For instance, according to a survey reported by the BBC news regarding general population spending in one month of IPL matches in 2018. The results were pretty shocking as people spent around 40% more money as compared to other months' expenses. They are buying all of those items just because it is endorsed by their favourite team or a player. In conclusion, sponsoring sports will definitely hike sports as well as company stocks. Nevertheless, in my opinion, it has too much downside in terms of the general public. It is simply a mind-diversion of people, which is encouraging them to buy services or products they really do not need in everyday scenarios.