Social Media websites have amassed large user bases, and have become the sole source of information for their users. Do the advantages of being a part of a social media site outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there is massive traffic on Social Media website. Moreover, these sites have become the major point of knowledge for the users. These web portals have now become the daily part of our life. This essay will discuss my viewpoints and explain what are the advantages and disadvantages of this advancement in the Internet world. Firstly, the reach of these websites is everywhere from urban to rural areas. In addition to this, the acceptability of these sites is very easy and fast. For an instance, websites like Facebook, Twitter are highly penetrated in every country irrespective of age, area, gender. Secondly, any message or news gets viral fast as compare to other news channels because of high traffic on the portal. One clear example to the above statement, there is various news channel which is only operating on Youtube. This website gets millions of clicks and user every day from different part of the world. So it also not specific to one region. People can search for any information they want to check. Furthermore to this, they can connect to the people who have relevant information and can do a live chat with them about any topic. On the other hand, there are some negative impacts as well. In addition, anyone can upload any information on these portals which can be fake and people start believing in it. For example, in India where the uneducated population is more, they read or see some of the wrong details and try to imply it which can be harmful to them and for society as well. Recent suicide case of Bollywood actor "Shushant Singh" has affected so many teenagers because of the dead body photo which got viral on the internet. In conclusion, this essay has discussed both views and gave reasons. There are always pros and cons of everything. It depends on an individual how to use these technological advances. This can turn fruitful for the society or have the power to influence in a negative way on a larger scale.