Some people believe today that everyone has a right to access to the Internet and that governments should provide this access for free. Other people believe that access to the internet is not a right and should be paid for like other services. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Ever since the invention of the internet in the early nineties, it has become a vital part of our day-to-day communications, business, education and so much more. Although some people think it, like any other service provided by the government, should be a paid one, it is my belief that offering financial support for internet users across the world is becoming a necessity. On the one hand, a group of people thinks that having internet access is a privilege and not a given right. That is because, they believe it is a costly service for the government to provide, and it should be treated like other utilities; gas, electricity and water for example. In addition to it being expensive, they think many people use the internet mostly for TV streaming and online gaming. These uses are usually categorized as entertainment activities and should not be supported. Had the government subsidized the internet, that would result in it spending less and less on more important areas like the health sector and education. On the other hand, I would argue that although completely free access to the world wide web is not feasible, providing some sort of support from the government is nowadays crucial. The reason for this is how dependent our world has become on the internet in almost every field. For instance, in education,most schools and universities usually give their students assignments that should be done online. If a partial financial aid is not provided, underprivileged students might fall behind because their parents might not afford to pay for the internet on a regular basis. In conclusion, despite, I agree that unlimited free internet for everyone puts a huge strain in a countries economy, I still think that partial support from the government,especially for the poor and needy, is essential.