There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that due to the high pressure put on pupils, non-academic subjects should be deleted from the curriculum. This essay disagrees with that assessment completely because students are able to develop soft skills through these aforementioned topics as well as gain general acquaintance. It is crystal clear that education should not be limited to literature as well as scientific subjects.Indeed, schooling consequently aims to develop a wide range of aptitudes among students and not only focus on the so-called "pure-knowledge".Nobody can deny the fact that mathematics and literature are the cornerstones of our modern civilisation, however, human beings also need other skills to deal with their daily life, such as cooking, socializing and practising sports. These lasts have to be mandatory and taught not only by parents, but also by educational institutions. For instance, physical education provides knowledge to practice a daily activity,which features several benefits for our body and our mental health, that many students wouldn't learn at home. Putting an interest in those non-academic themes has, by contrast, an academic target.In fact, numerous first universities consider those subjects as an important criterion for selecting their students.In this regard, many pupils have the same high level and make college applications for a third-level education, aiming to fulfil their dream by integrating into a prestigious university. Although,those non-academic works can set them apart from other rivals when making college applications. For example, Harvard University takes into account leisure activities, such as sports, in their process of recruiting new students. To conclude, teaching students diverse subjects, even if it is not academic, should be compulsory because it will help them learn more about themselves in addition to developing soft skills that are useful in achieving their targets in life. Moreover, it would help them get into third-level education.