In the last century, the first man to walk on the moon said it was "a giant leap for mankind”. However, some people think it has made little difference to our daily lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undeniably, space explorations have revolutionised our world since the last decades. As Yuri Gagarin stepped on the moon, humans’ lifestyles have changed far considerably. From my view, the drawbacks can be greater than the minimal advantages which are earned by humans. On the one hand, investment in space projects is less important than other problems humans have. The first one is the nourishment of poor people. Each year, billions of dollars are considered by plenty of developed countries for this sector, while this money can be used in more essential parts, including farming. In particular, in Africa, thousands of people die because of the shortage of food annually; however, had the US government assisted these nations, more humans would have survived. Moreover, instead of focusing on a space voyage, international organisations must pay attention more to refugees. Each year thousands of humans in the Middle East lose their home and have to leave their country. As a prime example, recently hundreds of thousands of People in Syria fled to Europe, whereas never sending a spacecraft to Mars can be useful to protect them. As a result, humanity has more important issues which must be solved than sending the man to the moon. On the other hand, I think the benefits gained by space travelling can be far considerable than its marginal drawbacks. The first reason behind it is that it has led other technologies to develop more. Definitely, had not scientists used space navigation technologies in aircraft, passengers would not have reached their destination so fast. For instance, the materials used in the body of new planes are copied from Shuttle, increasing their speed and having more efficient fuel consumption. To sum up, although space exploration has blessed humans with advanced technologies, in my point of view, developed nations must pay attention to the problems which are faced by poor or undeveloped countries.