People in many countries spend more and more time far away from their families. Why does this happen and what effects will it have on them and their families

It is a increasing trend worldwide where citizens devote less time to their family members. In this essay, I will identify the reasons and the effects on their families and individuals. As for reasons, why people tend to spend less time with their families.The first one that comes to my mind is that some workers have to endeavour due to the intense competition in modern society. They may separate from their relatives because of work pressure from their superiors. For example, the employees in the oil industry usually work on the ocean where oil extraction platforms are located. They have to compete with domestic and foreign competitors. Their hard effort contributes to achieving international companies’ target margins. Another reason is that individuals sometimes indulge themselves in new entertainment, such as online chatting and video games, resulting in a significant reduction in quality time with their families. Consequently, those who are separated from their family members may suffer mental problems, resulting from the lack of support from families. For their husbands or wives, they may be divorced due to separation for a long time. On the other hand, their children probably become addicted to some online content because of a lack of companionship. They will have a bad quality life if they are binded with their jobs. In conclusion, we should strike a balance between work and life. The most important reason behind the phenomenon is the requirement of hard work and being obsessed with the new entertainment. It is bad for those who spend less time with their families and their family members.