Many people spend a large amount of money on celebrating birthdays and weddings. Discuss the views of this trend.

Millions of dollars are spent on birthdays and weddings each year. Certain people choose to spend years of savings, thousands of dollars, on a single celebration such as a marriage or birthday ceremony, and this decision has a significant impact on their lives. Therefore, some individuals believe that spending much money on wedding and day of birth celebrations is wasteful because it could be invested better elsewhere, but others support this practice as commemorating such important events strengthen families' bonds and encourage people's achievements. For long-term benefits, it is arguably more advantageous to spend large sums of money on education and business than on a single-day ceremony such as a wedding. Although it is true that many people have a day filled with fun at a 50-thousand-dollar luxurious wedding, the couples being celebrated can have years of luxurious life if that money is spent on post-graduate tuition fees or establishing biz. For instance, rather than spending tens of thousands of dollars on a destination wedding to Hawaii, with lobster for the main course, the parents could wisely choose to purchase a Starbucks Coffee shop for the couple as a wedding gift which could bring them years of passive income. This is definitely one perspective on the trend of overpriced weddings and birthdays. Expensive marriage and birthday festivities provide unique opportunities for extended families, colleagues, and friends to gather and build mutual respect and collaboration. In addition, these events also emphasize the importance of the individuals being celebrated, thereby motivating them to build families and achieve a level of success that can continue such luxuries in the future. At weddings and birthdays, people can network and form relationships that lead to business ventures and forthcoming relationships. Furthermore, the individuals also desire to repeat the same for their children twenty years down the road. For example, at a destination wedding in Hawaii, during the lobster dinner, the couple may get into a conversation with their uncle and decide to open a restaurant together in the future. Meanwhile, their cousin can meet their future husband at the same event. Thus, these events can be a very productive or good investment. In conclusion, certain people ascertain that expensive birthday and wedding celebrations are an unwise use of funds while others feel it is a great investment. Certainly, thousands of dollars can be put towards long-term goals, however, it can also be spent fruitfully on a single day's event. Often times, not only do people's most memorable events originate from a wedding celebration, but also their lifelong business partner or spouse.