In many countries, traditional dress and costumes are considered effective ways of maintaining links with the past. How effective can traditional costumes be, in this sense? What other ways exist to help citizens connect with a country’s past?

Preserving connections with the past by using traditional clothes and attire is considered practical in many nations. In brief, I think it is less effective to just use traditional dress in maintaining the connection with the past, and there needs to be integration with another form of ways to maximize this. Traditional clothing could provide nations with clues about their history and heritage, however in a sense it will not be efficient if only used as a type of wearable clothing. Some people are keen on wearing traditional dress vibes to attract public attention or to stand out among the masses. For example, in some places like cafés or restaurants with classic themes, their employees use traditional dress as uniform to match its vibes. From this, it could be said that the purpose of wearing traditional wear is not only for historical purposes but profit-oriented. It drifts away from the nation's direction in cultural clothing. On the other hand, if traditional costumes are combined with some sort of events, it will be more effective in keeping the links with the past culture. For example, in Indonesia, the groom and bride will wear traditional attire in wedding ceremonies and some people wear batik in certain national celebrations. These events will be more special, because people want to maintain the traditions with not only the situation but also the clothing usage in the events. Thus, it will directly lead the people to feel the traditional vibes are the same as in the past. In conclusion, traditional apparel could be used to assist citizens link with the country’s past, however, it will be more effective to integrate it with some occasions like National Day